It’s Me, & I Need Your Prayer.

DSC_0039_7134

 

I’m leaving for Thailand tonight for the next 8 days.

“Elijah was afraid and ran for his life. When he came to Beersheba in Judah, he left his servant there,  while he himself went a day’s journey into the wilderness. He came to a broom bush, sat down under it and prayed that he might die. “I have had enough, Lord,” he said. […]Then he lay down under the bush and fell asleep.”

On April 11 of this year, I will have been in my country for a year.  A year of my senses being utterly shocked with sights, sounds, smells, and feelings that have all been difficult, encouraging, affirming, stretching, convicting, teaching, and altogether good.   The power of the Gospel of Jesus Christ has never seemed more real and prevalent to me as I walk the streets of South Asia.

“All at once an angel touched him and said, “Get up and eat.”  He looked around, and there by his head was some bread baked over hot coals, and a jar of water. He ate and drank and then lay down again.

The angel of the Lord came back a second time and touched him and said, “Get up and eat, for the journey is too much for you.”  So he got up and ate and drank. Strengthened by that food, he traveled forty days and forty nights until he reached Horeb, the mountain of God. There he went into a cave and spent the night.”

DSC_0100_7193

I’m going to Thailand, and yet I find myself in this story of Elijah.  The Lord called a discouraged, tired, frustrated man out into the wilderness to beautifully grant perspective, nourishment, and a gentle reminder of who is this intimate Sovereign One.

“And the word of the Lord came to him: “What are you doing here, Elijah?”

I’m excited about this visa run, but I’m asking for your prayers.  Being here for a year means 2 things to me right now: 1) I’ve made it a year! And trust me, I fully know that it’s only by the power of Yahweh that I’ve lived and moved and found my being.  He has graciously sustained, rebuked, worked, and taught me so much.  Praise Him.  2) I have 10 more months here! Different days provoke different tones of voices when I say that statement (all you other M’s on the field know what I’m talking about).  And it’s in these 2 statements that I’m asking for your prayer and encouragement:

“The Lord said, “Go out and stand on the mountain in the presence of theLord, for the Lord is about to pass by.”

Then a great and powerful wind tore the mountains apart and shattered the rocks before the Lord, but the Lord was not in the wind. After the wind there was an earthquake, but the Lord was not in the earthquake.  After the earthquake came a fire, but the Lord was not in the fire. And after the fire came a gentle whisper.”

I’ve been so encouraged by everyone’s notes & prayers already, but I desperately asking you to pray the following things for me this week:

1) Pray that the Lord would bring continued vision & endurance to continue living and working in my city.  This includes asking for wisdom in knowing which relationships to continue to pursue.

“When Elijah heard it, he pulled his cloak over his faceand went out and stood at the mouth of the cave.

Then a voice said to him, “What are you doing here, Elijah?”

2) Pray that the Lord would provide excitement to return to my country.  In complete honesty, I’m so excited and ready for a break that I fear I won’t want to return.  The beautiful thing to me about the story of Elijah that I resonate so loudly with right now lies in the fact that while the Lord called Elijah out of his area of ministry to minister to, encourage, and grant perspective, He also called Elijah right back to the place and people Elijah left. I ask that you pray not only for the refreshment & encouragement of knowing the Lord, but that He would bring excitement and desire to return.

Thanks so much for your prayers, all of you because trust me, they’re felt. Thank you for all of your encouragement, for the Lord seems to bring them all at the right time as only He can.

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that by the power of the Holy Spirit you may abound in hope.”  Romans 15:13

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to It’s Me, & I Need Your Prayer.

  1. Thank you so much for sharing, Caroline!! I actually was in this passage not too long ago. It’s only been half a year for me, but I do understand some of your struggles. I will certainly be lifting you up for these things! Keep persevering! God is so good. I pray you find rest, refreshment, and renewal. And I also pray that you will have the courage to fan the flame to finish this task he has graciously allowed you to participate in. I love you, sister!! I hope you have fantastic trip!

  2. Dusty says:

    Caroline, I’m so proud of you and I know Papa is too! It isn’t easy being on the field. I know exactly what you mean, and sometimes, it’s so hard to keep fighting thru. You’ve got this though and I know there is such a purpose for you being there. He won’t give you more than you can handle. Keep pressing in and pressing on 🙂 I believe that He has even greater things in store for this next season than in what you’ve experienced up to this point!

  3. Totally understand that feeling of needing a little culture break – getting close to that point myself. So excited for your time in Thailand and how the Lord’s spoken to you beforehand and given you this picture of His power and His faithfulness. I’ll be praying that he does this work in you while you’re away and that you will be refreshed, filled with vision, and excited to come back!

  4. Brittany Miller says:

    Caroline! Great post, thanks for the honesty. I am praying!! I have been inspired by the same passage and the Lord used that to lead a staff retreat for Trafficking workers in Cambodia. I am praying you are refreshed and empowered for this next phase. Also, when/where you going to Thailand? I’ll be in Bangkok Sunday.

    • carolmsmith3 says:

      Brittany! Sorry we missed each other, but we didn’t get into Bangkok but one day, and are now back in our country. Where are you now and what’s up? it’s been so long since we’ve talked! (too long) Thanks for your prayers!

  5. Suzanne says:

    Carolina, I am a friend of your Dad’s. He gave me this info and blog site when we came on a trip to India about 6 weeks ago. We were only there in remote villages that were north and east of Delhi and we were with a medical team. WHAT a blessing. BUT I can understand your feelings and it is surely hard to be in such a different culture and a far away country. You face so many more challenges on a daily basis that we here at home never even consider. God will be with you and will lead you and give you the strength and courage to do His will. He will let you know what it is. So never fear. Blessings to you and many prayers. Suzanne Jones….and Bud too…my husband.

    • carolmsmith3 says:

      Hey Suzanne! Thanks so much for stopping by and taking time to write a comment. The challenges are definitely different here than they were in the States, but thankfully the Lord I serve is NOT. Thanks so much for your prayers and sweet words!

Leave a Reply

