hap, hap, happy mother’s day

10 reasons why my mama is the greatest:

10.  Remember when you used to make me and Grayson nachos after school at our first house?  I’m pretty sure it started my love affair with cheese: I’m forever indebted…as well as the rest of the dairy industry.

9.  You’re a J, I just know it.  (for those of you non-Myers-Briggs personality test takers our there, that means she’s a freakin’ awesome planner.  that’s right, I just said freakin’.)  Let’s face it, if it were up to me, my childhood would have consisted of playing at the pool with Grayson and nacho-cheese eating.

8.  Even though I don’t know Hindi yet, I just know these people here are talking about your legendary fried chicken.

7.  You let me and Grayson fight.  You weren’t (and still aren’t) one of those moms that was so overbearing that you stepped into every argument solving things yourself.  You let us figure things out, and I’m grateful–conflict resolution is pretty handy tool as an adult (I’m sure I’ll figure that out when I finally become one).

6.  You taught me to be a strong, independent woman who was never to be ashamed of how God had made her.  You taught me that my value and identity was in Jesus, not in what the world says gives worth.

5.  You didn’t do my school projects or homework for me.  I think this goes along with #6, but you taught me and Grayson that some things are worth the fight, pain, and frustration in life.  Besides, I was always so mad when the kids whose parents did their projects and homework for them got the same grades.

4.  You only ever make HOMEMADE MASHED POTATOES. Seriously.  I don’t think I even knew what instant mashed potatoes were until college.  (Are you seeing a food pattern here?  Maybe I should just lump all of these food points into one big fat one that encompasses the love of good food you instilled in me.  A big fat point, covered…in nacho cheese).

3.  You let me be the weird, creative kid I was (and still am).  The random art projects, trips to Hobby Lobby, paint sets, the “I don’t know what I’m working on yet, Mom” answers I gave you when you asked me what I was doing…you not only let me grow and create what I did but you nurtured it.

2.  You love my dad.  This point has more to do with Grayson and me than you think.  You love Dad, and that’s something we never had to question.  We knew that you had each other’s back, that you were each other’s best friend, and that we could never pit you guys against each other.

1.  You love Jesus more than anything.  More than Dad, more than us, I know you do.  And for that, you are the picture of the godly woman, wife, and mother that I someday hope to be.

I love you Mama, happy mother’s day!

Her children rise up and call her blessed; her husband also, and he praises her.  Proverbs 31:28

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to hap, hap, happy mother’s day

  1. Kathy Potter says:

    So beautiful , I know that Susan was excited to read all!

  2. Mike says:

    That’s MY Caroline that wrote that!! Skype and Facetime is a wonderful thing!

  3. Melanie says:

    That has to be the best “Mother’s Day Gift” in whole world for your mama. She is one special woman, wife, mother, sister, sister in law, mother in law, and friend, but most of all she is an obedient child of God. Caroline, I do not have any doubts that WHEN you grow up, you will be just like her in every way. I am proud of you both and love you very much. Aunt Melanie

  4. Beff says:

    i. am. crying. thanks. for. that ….

  5. Pingback: a father’s day story |

Leave a Reply

