For Music Lovers Only

music header

So living here in the city presents itself with LOTS of public transportation…which 99.7% of the time means I’m listening to music.  Which means that certain songs just keep making the cut when it comes to things I consistently want to listen to, so without further adieu, here they are:

1.  To Those Who Wait, by Bethany Dillon:  Part of her newest EP, this song’s raw lyrics have sort of become my soul’s cry…”Oh my soul, wait on the Lord, keep your lamp filled with oil, Oh my soul, be not deceived, wait for Him, don’t be quick to leave.”

2.  The Reeling, by Passion Pit: Similar sounding to The Naked and Famous featured on my last post on music, my good friend, Matt, reminded me of just how much I love Passion Pit.

3.  Fare Thee Well, by Braddigan: Another good friend introduced me to Braddigan a few summers ago while I was in South America, and I just recently rediscovered them on my computer.  This song is one of those that make me miss the mountains of North Carolina driving with the windows down and the music blasting…

4.  Rambling Man, by Laura Marling: If you haven’t discovered Laura Marling yet, shame on you (just kidding) (but, really).  Early on in life, my dad instilled in me a great appreciation for Karen Carpenter’s incredibly smooth, alto voice, and I think the way her voice reminds me of a Karen Carpenter-Patty Griffin mashup just makes me happy. (in case you’re wondering, no, this isn’t a remake of the Allman Brothers Ramblin’ Man–sorry).

5.  Cuckoo, by Lissie: Let me just go ahead and let you know that this girl’s sound is nothing like the outside of her album artwork…I was totally expecting a  Kesha sound.  She’s got a fun sound, nonetheless.

6.  Be Still My Heart, by The Postal Service: When you involve the lead singer of Death Cab For Cutie and producer Jimmy Tamborello it usually involves dynamite (not literally).

7.  Boi Lilikoi, by Jónsi: I love Jónsi and after watching We Bought a Zoo on the plane ride to London, I realized that he did the entire soundtrack…with the help of one Sigúr Ros song.  It’s legit.

8.  Out on The Town, by Fun.: I’m quickly falling in love with this band (better late, than never) and I can’t stop listening to this bonus track on the album, Some Nights. Seriously, like. can’t. stop.

Now you have a little bit better of an idea of what I’m listening to when I ride the many rickshaws and trains here in my lovely city. Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to For Music Lovers Only

  1. Kelsey says:

    Some nice choices here and a few I’ll have to check out. Love Postal Service! If you like Fun, check out The Format. (Same singer.) Their album “Dog Problems” is one of my very favorites!

Leave a Reply

