water=life

A woman from Samaria came to draw water.  Jesus said to her, “Give me a drink.”

I wake up to the Muslim morning call for prayer.  It sounds on and I hope to block its drone from my memory, hoping to keep the wonderful cobwebs that sleep has formed across my brain intact.  I drift back into sleep as the sound of water rushing into the pipes of our flat fill the air, and I’m awake.  I rush into the bathroom fill in the 4 buckets we own with water setting about to clean what I can before they shut the water back off.  I boil water and set about making coffee.

The Samaritan woman said to him, “How is that you, a Jew, ask for a drink from me, a woman of Samaria?” (For Jews had no dealings with Samaritans).

For the majority of countries around the world nothing else matters when the water is turned on.  It’s a mad dash to fill buckets, clean clothes, wash dishes, and boil water for cooking.  When the water filled those pipes, nothing else matters.  Water is precious, and, therefore, what sweet time they have with it stays protected and full of purpose–not a minute remains wasted.

Jesus answered her,  “If you knew the gift of God, and who it is that is saying to you, ‘Give me a drink,’ you would have asked him, and he would have given you living water.”

As I finally sit down with the Word and my coffee, I open the curtains for extra light and begin to read the sweet Living Water…

The woman said to him, “Sir, you have nothing to draw water with, and the well is deep.  Where do you get that living water?  Are you greater than our father Jacob? He gave us the well and drank from it himself, as did his sons and his livestock.”

I glance up form the page and a lump forms in my throat as I see women in black burkas milling around. To their left, the flashing lights of the nearby Hindu temple grab my attention next as my eyes move back to the page…

Jesus said to her, “Everyone who drinks of this water will never be thirsty again, but whoever drinks of the water that I will give him will never be thirsty again.

The woman said to him, “Sir, give me this water, so that I will not be thirsty or have to come here to draw water.”

While I love the honest desperation of this woman as she’s gripped with the reality of her brokenness and sin, the boldness of Jesus doing whatever it took to get to her with salvation (despite the social and physical uncomfortableness),  the sovereignty of God on display linking her salvation and the salvation of her village back to Jacob’s well in Genesis, I’m also burdened with the truth of Living Water and all its implications for the desert around me.

Life here is hot, spiritually dark, and an overload of the senses–but amidst all of this humid chaos remains the beautiful, sweet promise that the Living Water brings: life.

But the hour is coming, and is now here, when the true worshipers will worship the Father in spirit and truth. The woman said to him, “I know that Messiah is coming (he who is called Christ).  When he comes he will tell us all things.”  Jesus said to her, “I who speak to you am he.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to water=life

  1. Kathy Potter says:

    You are in our thoughts and prayers, SWEET CAROLINE. I know you will share the living water.

    • carolmsmith3 says:

      thanks for your prayers Mrs. Kathy! I love you guys!

      • Jennifer Pendergrass says:

        I recently had someone explain to me that “living water” referred to water that had constant flow (like streams/rivers) that never ceases and “dead water” refers to water that has no renewal source and is stagnet. I think about the constant source of renewal we have from “the Living Water”. Having family in parts of the world have increased my appreciation for the value of clean, usable, and available water. After being in places where this availability was not a given, I have gained an understanding for what this means, both physically, and much more to us, spiritually. Praying for you.

  2. sarah conti says:

    This is awesome Caroline….what a different perspective on water when you know first hand what it is like to be desperate for it…and how much hinges on having access to it. Thanks for sharing your experiences and your heart. Praying for you and excited that we as a church get to come along side of you in this adventure God has called you to.

Leave a Reply

