ENTPs and Ligaments

I’m an ENTP. Know what that means? Extroverted, intuitive, thinking, perceptive. My personality profile says that people see me as strong & independent. I’m creative, stimulated by difficulties, value competence, precision & efficiency. I think theoretically & conceptually. It’s beautifully interesting and unique that of the 7 billion hearts that fill the earth, each has its own thoughts, feelings, desires, and perceptions. We all bring our own default settings, hurts, experiences, dreams, and brokenness in need of redemption.

I’ve been blessed the last 8 weeks to be a part of about 150 other redeemed hearts as each of us prepare for the next season in which the Lord leads us. This season will be marked mostly by transition, some tears, new smells, sights, and sounds, hopefully with a little laughter sprinkled in.

Scripture speaks of believers being a body with Christ functioning as the head. Colossians 1:18 says that Jesus, the Author and Perfecter of our faith is the head of this body that will one day be full of members from every tribe, tongue, nation, and people. This metaphor and image we have of the way in which believers are to relate to one another remains an image worth exploring.

When my physical body is in pain, is broken, burned, bleeding–instinctively, blood and endorphins are released all with the purpose of restoring what has been broken and eventually bringing about new growth that will actually be stronger than before. If my arm is broken, I will go to any length to repair it, to go to the hospital, to have healing. How silly and unnatural it would be if I tried to keep my arm broken, sought out no help, or even worse, let it heal in a broken position.

It is in this metaphor that we see how the body of Christ is to relate to each other. These past 8 weeks have been a beautiful, challenging, healing time for me as I have been so confronted with the desperate need I have for my fellow members. In the middle of emotional, physical, or spiritual chaos it no doubt remains imperative that I work these things out before the Lord first and foremost, but how crippling and incomplete if I allow the body of Christ and its members to play no role in my own need for healing and brokenness. While my personality profile describes me as strong and independent, it provides no excuse for my lack of participation in what the role body of Christ plays in my life.

After all, at the end of the day we’re all just messed up, broken, sinful people in desperate need of holding fast to the Head of the body, “from whom the whole body, nourished and knit together through its joints and ligaments, grows with a growth that is from God.” (Colossians 2:19)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to ENTPs and Ligaments

  1. shelli says:

    thank you again for letting us in to your brain–I love you and miss you! We are praying for you!

  2. Johnathon Moore says:

    Thanks for sharing. Praying for you Caroline.

  3. Anne Tully says:

    Fascinating picture of the function of the body of Christ…really appreciate you sharing this. And it was also really exciting to read what you said about the other 150 redeemed hearts that have been preparing to go and share… The reality we’ve been redeemed from our sinful, wicked state of death is incredibly beautiful. And it is incredible to know there are folks going…to share the hope that has changed our lives. Enjoy your time with family. Praying for you.

  4. Pingback: Esther, the Honeybadger: Part 2 |

  5. David says:

    Hello Caroline,
    What a great adventure, growth opportunity and chance to minister. Really like the blog, good writing. Myers Briggs is a great tool and teaches one about yourself and others and improves communication I think. I can relate as an ENTJ.

    Stay safe and well. Lifting you and yours in prayer.

    David McBride, NC

Leave a Reply

